Special Events site header image

The city of Mobile is a member of Sister Cities International headquartered in Washington D.C. SCI recognizes, registers, and coordinates sister city, county, prefectures, provinces, regions, and state linkages. SCI represents more than 2,100 communities in 122 countries around the world.

The U.S. sister city program originated in 1956 when president Dwight D. Eisenhower proposed people-to-people, citizen diplomacy initiative. Originally part of the National League of Cities, SCI became a separate non-profit corporation in 1967.

Sister city partnerships are created to increase global cooperation; promote cultural understanding; and stimulate economic development. SCI works to strengthen partnerships by motivating and empowering private citizens, municipal officials, and business leaders to conduct long-term programs of mutual benefit.

Most of Mobile’s active sister cities have local organizations or societies here. Members hold regular meetings, travel to their sister cities, correspond with citizens of the cities, raise money for various projects, produce newsletters and host visitors in their homes.

Mobile’s sister city members at also involved in the city’s International Festival each November. Members set-up booths to showcase items from their cities and countries as a way to expose the community and citizens to a diversity of cultural experiences.

Registered Sister Cities
Ariel, Israel
Bolinao, Philippines
Cockburn, Australia
Constanta, Romania

Gaeta, Italy
Havana, Cuba

Heze, China
Ichihara, Japan
Katowice, Poland
King Shaka District, South Africa

Kosice, Slovakia
Pyongtaek, Republic of Korea

Tianjin, China

Veracruz, Mexico

Worms, Germany

Dissolved Sister Cities
Bristol, England
Heliopolis, Egypt
Kaohsiung County, Taiwan, China
Malaga, Spain
Pau, France
Puerto Barrios, Guatemala
Restov-on-Don, Russian Federation
Zakynthos, Greece

Pending Sister Cities
Bursa, Turkey
Liverpool, England